Thursday, December 9, 2010

2010 All- SEC Football Team Announced

On Tuesday, the SEC announced its 2010 All-SEC Conference Coaches’ Football Team. The Crimson Tide had the most representatives with 12, followed by LSU who had eight players named to the team. The players to make the list for Alabama were:

  • First Team Offense:
    • OL - James Carpenter
    • WR -  Julio Jones
  • Second Team Offense:
    • OL - Barrett Jones
    • C - William Vlachos
    • RB - Mark Ingram
    • AP - Trent Richardson
  • First Team Defense:
    • DL – Marcell Dareus
    • DB – Mark Barron
  • Second Team Defense:
    • LB – Dont’a Hightower
    • DB – Robert Lester
    • DB – Dre Kirkpartrick
  • Second Team Special Teams:
    • RS – Trent Richardson

Greg McElroy Names SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

greg-mcelroy2 Wednesday, Alabama Quarterback Greg McElroy was named the SEC’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Greg finished his undergraduate degree in business marketing and will complete his graduate degree in Sports Administration this fall.

Greg was also named the 2010 ESPN Academic All-American of the Year for his performance in the classroom.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Head Coach Urban Meyer to step down at Florida

It has been announced that Urban Meyer will leave the University of Florida as the Gators Head Football Coach.

He said,"I will profoundly miss coming to campus every day to coach this team, but I will always be a Gator at heart,"

Under Meyer’s lead, the Gators have won two National Championships and two SEC Championships. Meyer’s overall record in Gainesville was 57 –10.

His last game will be January 1st when the Gators take on Penn State in the Outback Bowl in Tampa.