Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Mark Barron named Thorpe Award Semifinalist

LSU v Alabama aJxZWvWhLeFm Alabama safety Mark Barron has been named one of ten semifinalists for the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award. The Jim Thorpe award has been given to the best defensive back in college football. First awarded to Baylor’s Thomas Everett in 1986, the award went to Tennessee’s Eric Berry last season. The only winner from Alabama came in 1994 when Antonio Langham won the award.

This year’s ten semifinalists include only two defensive backs from the SEC. LSU’s cornerback Patrick Peterson is the second. This weekend, the two will face each other as the Tide travels to Baton Rouge. Mark Barron leads Alabama with 52 total tackles, including three for a loss. He also has one forced fumble on the season.

Here is the complete list of semifinalists.

  1. Prince Amukamara- Nebraska
  2. Tejay Johnson- TCU
  3. Mark Barron- Alabama
  4. Joe Lefeged- Rutgers
  5. Chimdi Chekwa- Ohio State
  6. Rahim Moore- UCLA
  7. Brandon Harris- Miami (FL)
  8. Patrick Peterson- LSU
  9. Cliff Harris- Oregon
  10. Tyler Sash- Iowa


Post a Comment