Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Greg McElroy Named Finalist

Alabama quarterback Greg McElroy has been named a finalist in two awards for this season’s performance. The two awards are the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Wureffel Trophy.

The Golden Arm Award is given each year to the nation’s top senior quarterback. The award is given by the Johnny Unitas Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and was first established in 1987. It has been awarded 23 times with Texas’ Colt McCoy winning last season. This year’s finalists are:

  • Andy Dalton, TCU
  • Pat Devlin, University of Delaware
  • Nathan Enderle, Idaho
  • Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
  • Jake Locker, Washington
  • Greg McElroy, Alabama
  • Christian Ponder, Florida State
  • Ricky Stanzi, Iowa
  • Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech
  • Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin

The Wureffel Trophy is presented by the All Sports Association to the college player who best combines exemplary community service and academic achievement. Last season’s winner was Tim Hiller of Western Michigan University. This year’s finalists for the award are:

  • Greg McElroy, Alabama
  • Christian Ponder, Florida State
  • Ben Chappell, Indiana
  • Dominik Riley, Memphis
  • Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
  • Chris Stewart, Notre Dame
  • Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State
  • Kyle Adams, Purdue
  • Sam Acho, Texas
  • Chimaobim Mwachukwu, Washington State


Post a Comment