Friday, August 27, 2010

Vlachos Makes Watch List for Rimington Trophy

192_jpeg_300 University of Alabama center William Vlachos was one of 37 players selected by the Rimington Trophy committee for the trophy’s fall watch list.
The Trophy is named after the University of Nebraska’s center Dave Rimington. Rimington was a consensus first-team All- American in 1981 and 1982 and the only person to win the John Outland Trophy twice. It is awarded to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division 1-A College Football. Since the trophy’s inception, it has raised over $1.8 Million for the Cystic Fibroses Foundation.
The watch list includes 37 players from College Football, and 16 of the players to make the watch list were on last season’s watch list. The SEC has five players on the watch list including Vlachos. The conferences with the most players is the ACC and PAC-10 which each have six players on the list. The SEC joins the Big-12 with five players. The five SEC players to make the list are:
  • William Vlachos- Alabama
  • J.C. Brignone- Mississippi State
  • Mike Pouncey- Florida
  • Ben Jones- Georgia
  • Ryan Pugh- Auburn
Last season, the University of Florida’s Maurkice Pouncey won the award.


Post a Comment