Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Gene Stallings Elected To College Football Hall of Fame

stallings Former University of Alabama head football coach Gene Stallings was announced as one of the newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame. Last week the National Football Foundation's Veterans Committee selected Stallings and 13 other former college coaches and players to make up the 2010 class.

Stallings, who started his college football career playing for Paul "Bear" Bryant at Texas A&M, also served the Aggies as head coach from 1965 to 1971 after serving Bryant as a defensive assistant on the 1964 national championship team. He then served 14 years for the Dallas Cowboys and was given his chance to be an NFL head coach for the St. Louis Cardinals from 1986 to 1989.

In 1990, Stallings returned to the University of Alabama as head coach where he would stay until 1996. His record at Alabama was 70-16-1 as a head coach, and was only the second head coach in school history to win the Iron Bowl in his first season. He is most remembered for his accomplishments in 1992, leading a 13-0 Alabama team to a national championship against Miami and winning the first SEC Championship game.

Coming off the SEC Championship win, Stallings lead the Crimson Tide into the Sugar Bowl against a powerhouse Miami Hurricane team. The Tide held Miami to just 13 points winning 34-13, and who could forget the play of the game that will forever be remembered as “the strip” when defensive back George Teague ran down receiver Lamar Thomas and stripped the ball from him as the two barreled towards the end zone.

He now serves on the Board of Regents at his alma mater Texas A&M University. In all, Stallings' teams won one national championship adding him to the schools list of five head coaches and the school’s 12th championship, one SEC championship, and brought home four SEC West titles.

Also named to the 2010 class were:

  • Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin)
  • Pat Tillman (Arizona State)
  • Desmond Howard (Michigan)
  • Dennis Byrd (North Carolina State)
  • Ronnie Caveness (Arkansas)
  • Ray Childress (Texas A&M)
  • Randy Cross (UCLA)
  • Sam Cunningham (USC)
  • Mark Herrmann (Perdue)
  • Clarkston Hines (Duke)
  • Chet Moeller (Navy)
  • Jerry Stovall (LSU)
  • Alfred Williams (Colorado)


Article first published as Gene Stallings Elected To College Football Hall of Fame on Blogcritics.


Post a Comment